Post Your Query


3-5 characters3-7 characters
14,000 codes68,000 approx.
Most codes are numeric(exception is E and V codes)All codes have Alpha and numeric characters. All letters are used except letter ‘U’
Digit 1-Alpha or numeric
Digit 2-5-Numeric
Digit 1-alpha
Digit 2-numeric
Digit 3-7-alpha or numeric
17 chapters21 chapters
Injuries classified by type.Injuries classified by specific site.

Example: A patient presents to a physician’s office with “ankle sprain.” No other information is offered about the injury or how it happened.

In ICD-9CM the statement is coded as: 845.0 sprains and strains of ankle, unspecified site

In ICD-10CM the same condition is coded as:  S93.4- Sprain of ankle this instructs us to use a fifth, sixth, and seventh digit:

S93.4- Sprain of ankle

S93.401- Sprain of unspecified ligament of right ankle

S93.402- Sprain of unspecified ligament of left

S93.409- Sprain of unspecified ligament of unspecified


Our online program offers you a comprehensive training in diagnostic and procedural coding. The course will highlight the key changes in ICD-10. Learners will be able to translate their knowledge of ICD-9 to the new version of the classification system using ICD-10-CM (diagnostic) and ICD-10-PCS (procedural) coding manuals. During the program we will be focusing on following points for our students.

  1.  Understanding basic ICD-10 coding guidelines and conventions.
  2.  Understanding ICD-10-CM chapter-specific guidelines.
  3.  Enhancing medical terminologies, anatomy, physiology and clinical terms according to the
  4. chapter specific guidelines.
  5.  Understanding the details needed to step from ICD-9 to ICD-10.
  6.  Practicing sample questions for diagnoses and procedures on body system to test ICD-10
  7. knowledge and understanding.

Course Outline:

The course will include covering ICD -10 Introduction class in the beginning and then chapter specific guideline classes thoroughly covering coding the body systems.

Chapter Specific Body Systems:

Chapter 1 – Infectious & Parasitic Diseases

Chapter 2 – Neoplasms

Chapter 3 – Diseases of the Blood

Chapter 4 – Endocrine, Nutrition and Metabolic

Chapter 5 – Mental and Behavioral Disorders

Chapter 6 – Diseases of the Nervous System

Chapter 7 – Diseases of the Eye and Adnexal

Chapter 8 – Diseases of the Ear and Mastoid

Chapter 9 – Diseases of the Circulatory System

Chapter 10 – Diseases of the Respiratory System

Chapter 11 – Diseases of the Digestive System

Chapter 12 – Diseases of the Skin and Subcutaneous Tissues

Chapter 13 – Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System and Connective Tissue

Chapter 14 – Diseases of the Genitourinary System

Chapter 15 – Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Puerperium

Chapter 16 – Certain Conditions Originating in the Perinatal Period

Chapter 17 – Congenital Malformations, Deformations and Chromosomal Abnormalities

Chapter 18 – Symptoms, Signs and Abnormal Clinical and Laboratory Findings

Chapter 19 – Injury, Poisoning and Certain other Consequences of External Causes Complications

Chapter 20 – External Causes of Morbidity

Chapter 21 – Factors Influencing Health Status

Course Duration: 8 weeks.


The “CM” in ICD-10-CM codes stands for clinical modification. It’s a diagnostic coding system and like ICD-9-CM, the ICD-10-CM is based upon the International Classification of Diseases, which is published by the World Health Organization (WHO) and which uses unique alphanumeric codes to identify known diseases and other health problems.

The ICD-10-CM revision includes more than 68,000 diagnostic codes, compared to 13,000 in ICD-9-CM. ICD-10CM represents a significant improvement over ICD-9 CM and allows for a higher specificity such as location.


ICD-10 is an upgraded diagnostic and procedural medical coding system that is going to be implemented in the healthcare industry from October 1, 2015. This new coding system is different from the ICD -9 which is currently in use.

It is required now to start learning this new coding system as the healthcare industry will be transitioning from the ICD-9 code set and implementing the massive changes to the existing coding system. With the transition to ICD-10, in the United States, ICD-9 codes are segmented into:

  1. ICD-10-CM
  2.  ICD-10-PCS codes

ICD-10-CM replaces ICD-9-CM, volumes 1 and 2 and ICD-10-PCS replaces ICD-9-CM, volume 3.


ICD-10 PCS codes stands for procedural classification system. It’s a completely separate medical coding system from ICD-10-CM, containing an additional 87,000 codes. ICD-10-PCS is used only for inpatient,hospital settings in the United States, and is meant to replace volume 3 of ICD-9 for facility reporting of inpatient procedures.

Our Services

Online Training

In online medical coding training students have option to study anytime.

Medical Transcription Training

Medical transcription can be defined as a process of listening to a dictation

Classroom Training

Certification exam training program includes CPC (Certified professional coder) exam

Medical Billing Training

Medical Billing and Medical Coding training is a recession proof career, which one can look forward to.

ICD-10 Training

In ICD-9CM the statement is coded as: 845.0 sprains and strains of ankle, unspecified site

ICD-10 AM Training

ICD-10-AM Volume 1 (Alphabetic) and Volume 2 (Tabular) : Converting the diseases and injuries into alphanumeric codes.